The last few weeks

Hi Ya! How’s your summer going? Yesterday was our first downpour for a while which means happy allotment.

IMG_0528

 

After the exhibition, my freelance work took over a little but I now have some more time to devote to Beetroot Press which is amazing….and my poor neglected allotment.  We even had a bit of time for a week’s holiday in Egypt.

Last weekend, We had some friends to stay, and we visited the local animal park where we got locked in after closing hours – we managed to find a ladder in their yard and break out!  They assure us it’s never happened before, and it is a nice place to visit with the kiddie winks so dont let it put you off.  The farm is in Honeybourne, near Evesham, Worcestershire – here’s the link if you’re interested… All Things Wild

IMG_0464

IMG_0493

The allotment, even though sparse and, with an army of slugs running it, has produced a few strawberries for the last few weeks.  It’s been hard to find the time to keep on top of it but i’m getting there slowly.  I bought a few more plants today because the slugs have eaten so many of my ones raised from seed.

IMG_0219

IMG_0438

IMG_0210

I’ve been brainstorming new ideas for illustrations, new products and new textile prints and now I’m at a stage to start doodling them onto paper.

I managed to finish off sewing the Market tote bags for various customers this week.  I love these bags as they have such a good shape – mine got really tested out as I used it as a beach bag on holiday and then as a food shopping bag, our car was being fixed so I ended up carrying a full-to-the-brim bag home on the train. (it works)!

IMG_0332

IMG_0503

I also found some time to take some photos of the new stock, the paper prints and textiles – although it was a little windy outside.  I’m hoping to take some of the new cushions next week.

gardeners birds british by Beetroot Press

I now need to desperately find some local fairs to attend before all the summer ones are completely booked up.  I’ve left it late this summer – eek.  While looking online I came across a post on selling for designer-makers which I found it really helpful, so if you’re just starting to sell your wares, this may be of interest….Markets for designer-makers  ….and let me know if you have visited any good craft fairs/events around.

Anyway, that’s it for now, have a good week….but just before I go – I think this is the biggest strawberry I have ever seen, and it was all mine. Yum.

IMG_0537

Leave a Reply

